Skip to content
March 19, 2012 / Keely

Altostratus

I am.
Sorry but not saved.

It is time for me to leave; there is no love in this place. I hold my heart like a bouquet as I run home backwards.

Let me map this for you:

It begins with a road. Then there is a desert. Somehow at the end, there is a river.

Breaking down the rest is easy to do with a closed fist.

I learn that I must be strength, and untie the knots in my chest. My fingers are raw from the rope when the task is finished.

I am.
Love but not lost.

Written by Audrey Connor

Submit your own 100-word fiction here.

Leave a Reply

