Skip to content
December 26, 2011 / Keely

Colorado Leaves

In Colorado, the leaves falling on the ground in Autumn are satisfyingly crunchy when you step on them. When I moved to western WA State, it was disappointing to have soggy leaves on the ground. Crunch was replaced by squish.

I don’t remember how I used to dress, what my phone number was, or some of the people that I went to school with. One of my absolute fondest memories are those crunchy leaves… they gathered in piles on the sidewalk as if they were waiting for my feet when I walked to the elementary school with my little brother.

Written by Jennifer-Crystal Johnson

Submit your own 100-word fiction here.

Leave a Reply

